The Hellenic Society of Medical Biochemistry is a non-profit organization, founded in October 1980 in Athens.

The purpose of the Society is to promote scientific research in Medical Biochemistry,  education and training of medical doctors in subjects related to Medical Biochemistry, Applied Medical Biochemistry and Clinical Chemistry, Preventive Medicine as well as in subjects related to the environment that may affect Public Health.

According to the statute of the Society, the above objectives are pursued through:

1) the promotion of postgraduate training of medical doctors studying medical biochemistry

2) the organization of seminars both at the headquarters of the Society and at various locations in Greece

3) the organization of international and national conferences

4) the creation of a journal related to Medical Biochemistry and the publication of information brochures, etc.

5) the organization of reference centers for the enhancement of the accuracy of methods used in applied Medical Biochemistry; research centers; and an advisory body for the provision of information and assistance to those engaged in Applied Medical Biochemistry and research.

6) the invitation of expert scientists for lectures, announcements, etc.

7) the connection and cooperation with other medical societies in Greece and abroad, with institutions and academies for the promotion of the Society’s purposes.

8) the establishment of special committees in the field of Medical Biochemistry in order to strengthen the efforts and goals of the Society.

9) the organization of any other event deemed necessary by the Society’s Board of Directors to promote the aims of the Society.


The founding members of the Society were the following Professors and medical doctors: Constantine Miras, Ioannis Papavasileiou, Dionysios Varonos, George Papaevangelou, Antonia Trichopoulou, Menelaos Batrinos, Ioannis Chatziminas, Nikolaos Legakis, Antonios Koutselinis, Anastasios Kalofoutis, Dimitrios Loukopoulos, Amalia Dionyssiou-Asteriou , A. Bouloukos, Maria Pavlatou, T. Livanou, E. Anagnostou-Kakara, Angeliki Triantafyllou, Andreas Delitheos, Ioannis Lekakis and Vasiliki Deligianni.

The first temporary Board of Directors of the Society consisted of Professors: I. Papavasiliou, G. Papaevangelou, A. Trichopoulou, A. Kalofoutis and A. Bouloukos. In the initial Boards of Directors, the President of the Hellenic Society of Medical Biochemistry was Constantine Miras, Professor of Biological Chemistry of the School of Medicine at the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. The Hellenic Society of Medical Biochemistry is managed by a Board of Directors consisting of 7 members, which is renewed every three years, following a secret ballot of its members.

Until 2022, nine successful Panhellenic Congresses of Medical Biochemistry have been held, while a plethora of scientific events have been organized in collaboration with other Medical Societies and in the context of Panhellenic Congresses (Panhellenic Congress of Medical Biopathology, Panhellenic Medical Congress, Panhellenic Congress of Clinical Microbiology, Panhellenic Congress of Applied Laboratory Medicine, etc.).